The most effective way to maximize your savings each week is to stack your coupons.  Not only should you look for which items are on sale, but which ones do you have a manufacturers coupon and a store coupon for?  On 1 item you can use both.  At Publix, they also take competitors coupons, so there you can use all 3 for 1 item.  Using multiple coupons for 1 item is called stacking.

To clarify, there are 4 (ok, 5) types of coupons:

  1. Manufacturers Coupon– A coupon put out by the manufacturer that can be used at any store.  After they are used, the store sends them in to the manufacturer to get reimbursed the discount you received.
  2. Store Coupon– A coupon put out by each individual store in which they are responsible to pay the discount you receive.
  3. Competitors Coupon– A coupon put out by another store that your store will honor and be responsible to pay the discount your receive.
  4. E-Coupon–  A coupon loaded to your shoppers card from an e-coupon website (see E-Coupon Blog Post for sites) that your store automatically honors when your purchase meets the coupon requirements.
  5. Bonus (sometimes called Store) Coupon– Your savings that show up on your receipt after the store has doubled the value of your manufacturers coupon, when your manufacturers coupon is worth 50 cents or less.

What kinds of coupons does my store take?

  • Publix- Manufacturer, Store(In paper or Booklets in the store lobby and customer service desk), Competitor, and doubles manufacturer coupons worth 50 cents or less.
  • Kroger- Manufacturer, Store (Sent in the mail, usually), E-Coupons, and doubles manufacturer coupons worth 50 cents or less.
  • Ingles- Manufacturer, Store, extra savings with Ingles Advantage Card, doubles (sometimes triples) manufacturers coupons.
  • Walmart- Manufacturer, Store (when they have them, but it is rare)
  • Target- Manufacturer, Store (Coupons in the mail , sent by text, and online)
  • CVS- Manufacturer, Store (Coupons online, in ad, and in the store printed from coupon center when you scan your CVS Rewards Card)
  • Walgreens- Manufacturer, Store (Coupons online and in ad)
  • Rite Aid- Manufacturer, Store (Coupons online and in ad)

Kroger’s e-coupons usually go along with printable coupons.  For instance, this week, Pringles are $1.50 each.  I have an e-coupon and a manufacturers coupon for $1 off 2 cans.  When I use both, I can get both cans for $1, or 50 cents each.

CVS, Walgreens, and Rite Aid have rewards programs that give you money back to spend on your next purchase at their store.  This “money” is only accepted at the store it came from (i.e. Walgreens Register Rewards only accepted at Walgreens, CVS Extra Care bucks only accepted at CVS, and Rite Aid + UP Rewards and Single Check Rebates only accepted at Rite Aid).

Target has great online coupons and just started mobile coupons that will come straight to your mobile phone.  When you use the coupon, show it to the cashier from your phone and you will receive your discount! To subscribe, click here: http://sites.target.com/site/en/spot/page.jsp?title=text_alerts

When stacking your coupons, you can quite often “make” money on your purchase: 

Say for instance Ragu is on sale at Publix, I have a manufacturers coupon for $1.50 off  2 jars, so I buy 2, and save $1.50, my purchase now totals $2.50.  I have 2 Target coupons for $1 off 1 jar of Ragu.  I use both and my total is now $0.50 for both jars.  But, I have a store coupon for $1 off 2 jars.  I use that coupon and I have made 50 cents on that purchase. 

These are the times I load up on these items and begin my stockpile.  Not only am I getting sauce that I will use eventually, but am making money that can go towards my other groceries.  I may buy this deal 4 times.  I’ll have 8 jars of sauce and $2 to go towards my other things.  Will the store give me the $2 if I just go to buy the sauce?  Usually, no.  They will have you buy a “filler” item to take the place of the $2, so make sure your purchase evens out so you’re not running through the store trying to find a filler item when people are waiting in line for you to check out!

You may find deals like this 2-3 times a week.  Many times you’ll find things that are free, but not make money on the purchase.  But who can complain when you’re getting things free! 

Play your cards right, take time planning, and buy items when you can stack your coupons when items are on sale.  Before you know it you’ll be saving at least 60%, if not more on your groceries!

As always, if you have any questions about coupon stacking, feel free to ask me anytime you have a question.  I’m here to help!  Good luck shopping!